2019 Lacrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Schedule


By: Paul Reichert

One month into the 2019 racing season at the LaCrosse Speedway, there has been exciting competition in all of our weekly divisions. The best battle of all can be found in the NASCAR Late Model division between the its two most recent champions- Steve Carlson and Nick Panitzke. Two late race yellows allowed Panitzke work his way to the lead, with Steve Carlson glued to his bumper.

When the green flag waved for the Bud Light 25 lap main, Jeremy Wagner and Tom Carlson brought the field to the first turn. Wagner bolted to the front ahead of (Tom) Carlson on the back stretch. By lap ten, the Mike Carlson closed the gap on Wagner and began to pressure him for the lead. The first of two yellow flags slowed the action with nine laps to go and made the double file restarts interesting. Mike Carlson shot by Wagner to take command of the race. Panitzke squeezed under Mike Carlson with four to go to take the top spot. Panitzke was able to maintain the lead as (Steve) Carlson’s car began to have handling issues. Panitzke was able to take the win and for his third consecutive race. In victory lane, Panitzke stated “Those guys are picking things up and we have to stay on our A-game.”

In the Sportsmen feature, Brian Hesselberg was leading the way while holding off Chris Weber. With five laps to go they made contact in turn one and spun out. Both were relegated to the rear of the field. That opened the door for Tom Luethe to inherit the lead- yet he was pressured for the remainder of the race as he had to a couple of late race yellow flags to score his first win of the season.

Jason Stark was on his way to a clean sweep in the Hobby Stock division. That was until something broke on Stark’s car with two laps to go, resulting in a surprise feature win for Adam Moore.

Jonathan Burbach started on the pole in the Street Stock feature and led the entire way to capture his first win of 2019. The wacky Outhouse Race lived up to its billing once again as Adam Moore was the ‘King of the Port-A-Potty” for the fourth straight year.

Action continues next Saturday, June 8 with the Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stock and Hornets. After qualifying, another round of Kids’ Rides will takes place. The thrilling Double Spin to Win race for the Novelty division takes place later on in the program. Gates open at 6:00, qualifying begins at 6:15 and racing starts at 7:30.

For more information on the LaCrosse Speedway or the 2019 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit lacrossespeedway.com. LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

By:  Paul Reichert
Chamber of commerce weather welcomed the race fans back to the La Crosse Speedway for the annual Frostbuster race.  If you saw the action in the closing laps of the main event of the first race of the season, you can only image how exciting the rest of the 2019 will be.  Late race yellows made the final few laps exciting, and Steve Carlson fought off Nick Panitzke to claim win number one of 2019.
Jerimy Wagner led the first seven circuits of the NASCAR LM Feature before Steve Carlson charged by to take over the top spot.  At the halfway mark, Nick Panitzke shot between Bobby Wilberg and Brad Powell to take over third.  Panitzke still had some distance to make up on the front two.  Then the late race yellows showed up.  Rob Christen spun in turn three with three to go.  Carlson and Panitzke battled back and forth on the restart.  Just as Panitzke was getting around Carlson, calamity in turn two on the final lap brought out another yellow.  Carlson and Panitzke battled hard in turns one and two on the final lap.  Panitzke got loose and Jacob Goede took over second, with Ty Majeski and Bobby Wilberg rounding out the top five.  In his post-race interview, Carlson told the fans "If you liked the finish of that race, come back out here for more action like that this season."
Sam Niles took the lead two laps into the Sportsmen feature, but things got very interesting down the stretch.  Steve Schultz and Tom Luethe stayed glued to Niles' bumper and gave him a serious challenge for the top spot over the final few laps.  Niles held off both drivers to claim the victory.
In the Hobby Stock feature, BIll Schott closed the gap on race leader Adam Moore.  They made contact and spun each other out with five to go.  That gave the lead to Kaleb Hardy, who would drive off with the win.
Minnesota driver Ridge Oien made his first visit to La Crosse a successful one as he won the Hornet feature.  Jake Schomers' debut in the Street Stocks was also a success as he took the lead at halfway in the feature and ran away with the win.
After a short break, the first Friday Night Street Drags of the season take place on Friday, May 10th.  Weekly racing begins on Saturday, May 11th with the NASCAR Late Models, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets and Mini-Vans.  After qualifying, the kids can get their first rides of the year in a stock car.  Gates open at 6:00m, qualifying starts at 6:15 and racing begins at 7:30.
For more information about La Crosse Speedway or the 2019 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit lacrossespeedway.com.  La Crosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.
Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery NASCAR Late Models
Feature:  1. Steve Carlson, 2. Jacob Goede, 3. Nick Panitzke, 4. Ty Majeski, 5. Bobby Wilberg
6-For-6 Dash:  1. Pantizke, 2. Dean Cornelius, 3. Majeski
Heat 1:  1. Brent Kirchner, 2. Steve Carlson, 3. Wilberg,
Heat 2:  1.Carter Christianson, 2. Justin Neisius, 3. Justin Mullikin
Heat 3:  1. Nick Clements, 2. Jeff Partington, 3. Tom Carlson
Qualifying:  1. Majeski, 2. Goede, 3. Panitzke
Mountain Drew AMP Game Fuel Sportsmen
Feature:  1. Sam Niles, 2. Tom Luethe, 3. Brian Hesselberg, 4. Jeff Thompson, 5. Chris Skrede
Dash:  1. Chris Weber, 2. Hesselberg, 3. Luethe
Heat:  1. Steve Schultz, 2. Niles, 3. Skrede
Qualifying:  1. Weber, 2. Thompson, 3. Hesselberg
Auto Value Hobby Stocks
Feature:  1. Kaleb Hardy, 2. Jason Bolster, 3. Taylor Dobbs, 4. Brandon Gallagher, 5. Mark Challet
Dash:  1. Adam Moore, 2. Hardy, 3. Bill Schott
Heat 1:  1. Thomas Farra, 2. Bolster, 3. Challet
Qualifying:  1. Schott, 2. Hardy, 3. Challet
ANT's Complete Pest Control Hornets
Feature:  1. Ridge Oien, 2. Kris Berg, 3. Patrick Thicke, 4. Mark Bornitz, 5. Jimmy Bjorkman
Heat 1:  1. Shawn McCarthy, 2. Jaydin Schock, 3. Bjorkman
Heat 2:  1. Jake Schomers, 2. Rob Stanfield, 3. Scott Mahlum
Auto Value Street Stocks
Feature:  1. Jake Schomers, 2. Zach Liebsch, 3. Dan Frye, 4. Chris Larsen, 5. Dustin McCracken
Heat 1:  1. Keith Larson, 2. Tyler Stuber, 3. John Clauson
Heat 2:  1. McCracken, 2. Steve Brasda, 3. Clayton Haessig
Heat 3:  1. Schomers, 2. Chris Larsen, 3. Skylar Pozanc
Qualifying:  1. Larsen, 2. Tristan Drazkowski, 3. Dan Frye
Double Spin to Win:  1. Adam Moore, 2. BIll Schott, 3. Jason Bolster