2018 Marshfield Motor Speedway Schedule




Marshfield, WI, (May 5, 2018) – The 2018 race season kicked off here today at Marshfield Motor Speedway, with the Yellow River Racing Series. Not only was the fans treated to a sunny-warm day, the race events proved to be competitive as well.

Earning his first fast time honor in the super late model division at MMS, Chad Butz clicked off a fast time of 18.207 seconds. Jim Sauter, Jr. put his car in victory lane for the Kafka Granite, LLC Dash 4 Cash.

2017 Track Champion Michael Sauter jumped out to the early lead in the 35-lap feature event. Michael Sauter held his lead until lap nine, that was when Jim Sauter, Jr. made the pass for the race lead. By lap 15, Sauter, Jr. built up a comfortable lead over second place Michael Sauter. As Sauter, Jr. enjoyed a nice lead, the battle for second place was shaping up to be hotly contested. Appleton’s Jesse Oudenhoven, Brent Strelka, Chad Butz, and Michael Sauter, battled side by side, sometimes 3-wide for the runner up position. By lap 30, it looked as if Jim Sauter, Jr. would win comfortably. However, the second position was not settled. The four aforementioned drivers, were trading some paint and tire marks. When the checkered flag flew, it was Jim Sauter, Jr. rolling into victory lane. Brent Strelka eventually put his #52 machine into the runner up spot. Michael Sauter, Chad Butz, and Jesse Oudenhoven rounded out the top five respectively. Being interviewed in victory lane, Jim Sauter, Jr. stated, “As I exited turn 4, I lost oil pressure so I just shut the machine off.” Sauter, Jr. further mentioned, “I wanna thank the fans for coming out today, your support of short track racing is greatly appreciated.” Sauter, Jr. also grabbed the fast heat win.
1. Jim Sauter, Jr.
2. Brent Strelka
3. Michael Sauter
4. Chad Butz
 5. Jesse Oudenhoven
6. Jack Greenwood

X-Treme 4’s hit the track for the first time this year, and it was Tim Hintz tripping the clock with a NTR. Hintz, a former SLM driver, turned a lap time of 21.006. In X-Treme 4’s feature action, Gilman, WI driver Steve Hauser put his familiar #91 up front. Hauser and Tim Hintz put on one heck of a show for the top spot. The two drivers traded the lead 7 times, racing door handle to door handle throughout the feature event. In the end, it was fast timer Tim Hintz edging Steve Hauser by just a few feet. Making a return to the racing circuit after numerous years off, was Tim Jackson. Jackson would put his car in the third position, with Adam Eckes grabbing fourth.




Tom Lecher grabbed the feature win in the Bandit division, with Harry Myer grabbing fast time honors. Lecher also won the Bandit heat.



The Modified division plans to run MMS throughout the 2018 race season. In qualifying for the Modified division, it was Daron Fish earning the pole award. Fish turned a lap on the half mile paved oval of 20.006 seconds. 

In feature action, it was Daron Fish jumping out to the early lead, followed by Rick Coppernoll. Fish, who calls Wisconsin Dells home, went on to win the first feature event of the year. Rick Coppernoll would take the runner up spot, with Kevin Seidler taking third. Mauston, WI driver Denny Schott who exited the event on lap 7 with mechanical failure, finished fourth.

The always exciting Two-Man Cruisers are also on the 2018 schedule at MMS, and they put on a great show today. With one driver on the gas pedal and the other running the brakes, these drivers had some great side by side racing today. It was the team of Walter Mancil & Joey Kuhn taking the feature win. Second place went to the team of Craig Carlson & Jason Greerneller, with Shane Bates & David Van Stedum taking third. John Van Stedum & Craig Lyon took fourth place.

Up next at Marshfield Motor Speedway will be the CWRA Super Late Models on May 26th with the running of the Jim Back Memorial. Joining the CWRA Super Late Models will be the CWSFCS Pure Stocks, X-Treme 4’s, Modifieds, and the 2-Man Cruisers. Fans will be treated to a Thrilling Fireworks Show in honor of Memorial Day.For all the up to date information in regards to the 2018 race season at MMS, log onto www.marshfieldspeedway.com, or Like Us on Facebook.